Privacy and Access Settings
All Kuula users, both free and paid, can upload public tours and posts. Users with an active Kuula subscription, such as PRO or Business, can use a few additional privacy settings for their content. The available options include:
- Public the tour is visible in your profile, can be shared via direct link or embedded.
- Private visible only to you, links to the tour can't be shared or embedded.
- Unlisted PRO hidden from your Kuula profile page, availabke to anyone who has a direct link, can be embedded.
- Protected Business the tour requires a password to access, they can be shared and embedded but the viewer will need to know the password.
Permissions Business offer an alternative way to share access to your tours with other Kuula users. To learn more, plase see this tutorial.
Managing tour privacy
Privacy of a tour can be set during the batch upload process. The privacy interface can be found on the right side of the screen as illustrated below.
To change the privacy of an existing tour, go to the Tours section of your Dashboard. You can see a grid of all your tours with a label at the bottom showing if they are Public, Unlisted or Private.
To change the privacy of the tour, open the tour and click on the Edit Tour link on top of the thumbnail bar. On the Edit Tour screen, you will find the Privacy on the left side, under the Tour Settings tab.
Managing post privacy
The privacy of a post can be easily changed at any time. You can select the post's privacy during the upload process as illustrated below. You can also go to the editor of any existing post and change its privacy setting using the same interface.
You can easily recognize Unlisted and Private posts by a label at the top of the photo information panel (1). To change it, click on the Edit button (2).
How Tour and Post Privacy Work Together
When you change the privacy of a tour, all posts in that tour will automatically be updated to match the tour's privacy setting. However, you can then change individual post privacy settings afterwards if needed.
Changing the privacy of an individual post within a tour is useful if you want to temporarily hide a post from a tour that is Public or Unlisted. In order to do so, set its privacy to Private. Otherwise, the following rules apply:
- Public posts are visible to anyone who can access the tour they are in.
- Unlisted posts are visible to anyone who can access the tour they are in.
- Posts - regardless of their privacy settings - are always hidden if the tour is Private.
Unlisted posts are visible in Public tours. If you want to hide a specific post in a tour, you must set that post's privacy to Private.
Password protected tours BUSINESS
Kuula BUSINESS users can additionally protect their tours with a password. For more information, please see the Password Protected Tours tutorial.